Zero Waste Bathroom

I wanted to ease into becoming a zero waste home by taking small baby steps. It has only been a little over a month into our journey and I am proud to say the bathroom is very nearly a Zero Waste space!!

I started out by decluttering. My bathroom was FILLED with products I didn’t need. I rarely wear make up, but I had 5 unopened eye liners. 4 unused red lipsticks, foundations, eye shadows and much more!! I have 3 sisters, so that was easy enough to give away. I had a huge stockpile of chemical cleaning products from my couponing days. Most of them I got for free or was paid to buy! They were sold. Now I use a homemade all purpose cleaning spray and baking soda. Once I got rid of all that crap, I was ready to get started. These are the changes I’ve made:

  • Plastic toothbrushes were replaced with bamboo toothbrushes. I found this one at my local eco responsible store https://www.brushwithbamboo.com.
  • Plastic “loofa” was replaced with an actual loofa (a piece of dried gourd)
  • Moisturizer was replaced with coconut oil in a glass jar (will refill at bulk barn!)
  • Shampoo/conditioner bottles were eliminated. Trying out a baking soda/apple cider “no poo” regime

    img_2581

    New “shampoo” 

  • Shower gel will be replaced with unpackaged bar soap (as soon as my current shower gel is finished)
  • Exfoliating glove was replaced with a pumice stone found on the beach in Greece
  • Pads and tampons were replaced with cloth pads and a Diva Cup
  • Disposable razors, waxing strips etc.. were replaced with an electric beard trimmer for hubby and an epilator for me.
  • Toilet paper will be replaced with a recycled paper that comes in paper
    img_2254

    This is a loofa!

    packaging (ordered, waiting for it to arrive). I have also started using cloth and a peri bottle for #1, which has reduced our toilet paper usage.

  • Deodorant has been eliminated (for now). I realized that in the winter I don’t sweat or smell. So Why was I using it daily?? In the summer, I will try a homemade recipe.
  • Q-tips have been eliminated. I Loved them, but they are actually really bad for your ears. After the initial adjustment, I haven’t missed them.
img_2517

Compostable/recyclable toothbrush

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Things I still have to work on:

  • Toothpaste. I have to research a bit more about homemade toothpastes. I am a bit wary of non-fluoride, baking soda options. I don’t want to damage our teeth
  • Floss…is there a zero waste option for this?? Maybe a cotton thread that can be composted?? I don’t know, for now we still use the floss and will explore other options once we deplete our supply
  • Make up. I kept a couple items because occasionally I like to look less like a sleep deprived zombie and more like a human. Once they expire, I will look into more eco friendly or homemade options
  • Paw paw ointment. I Love this stuff, my MIL brings it for me from Australia. It is in a big plastic tub. Perhaps I will contact them and see if they would consider using glass
  • Hair brushes/combs. They are all plastic right now. Once they need to be replaced, I will look into finding a wood brush with natural bristles.

Do you have any great Zero Waste Bathroom alternatives?

Leave a comment